Categories
Children

Caroline Carlson and The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates

I’m so excited to share this title with you: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates. If you know anything about me you know I love pirates.

The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates

Here’s a synopsis from Goodreads.com

Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson’s hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.

There’s only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.

But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn’t exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson’s quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.

 

What’s not to love?

Arrgh!

Pirate Pame

Categories
Books Tea Parties

Bookish Tea Party Fun: The Dark Side of Tea Parties

Tea parties are fun but they are alot of WORK. There’s the choosing of the book, the fluffing of the tutu, the shining of the tiara, the ordering cookies, planning games, making sandwiches, setting the table, ordering crafts, etc. There is so much work to be done, but there is also so much FUN to be had! Leah and I love what we do with the littles on the weekend but sometimes its fun to act a little goofy.

darkside of parties.jpg

I hope you enjoy the little laugh break.

Categories
Children

The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates by Caroline Carlson

If you know anything about me you know I love pirates.  That’s why I’m so excited to share this title with you: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates

The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates

Here’s a synopsis from Goodreads.com

Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson’s hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.

There’s only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.

But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn’t exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson’s quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.

 

What’s not to love?

Arrgh!

Pirate Pame

Categories
Young Adult

What I’d Take on an Alien Invasion #The5thWave

You may have heard.

I’ve been reading a book by Rick Yancy called The 5th Wave.

I loved it! I have nothing more to add.

cept this:

What are you going to take when the aliens come?