Categories
Diversity Lists

How to Find a Diverse Book #WeNeedDiverseBooks

The folks at #WeNeedDiverseBooks made this infographic that I think is very helpful when searching for multicultural books.

weneeddiversebooks

Have you read any of the books on this list? I’ve only read Brown Girl Dreaming and Proxy and Two Boys Kissing. Guess I need to get busy!

Categories
Books Young Adult

Guardian by Alexander London. A Review

If you haven’t figured it out by now, you should know that I LOVE LOVE LOVE Alexander London! It’s almost as if we are SIBLINGS

separatedatbirth

 

SEPARATED AT BIRTH! I mean look at us! We are practically TWINS! I have ears, he has ears. We both wear glasses, and our mouths are both open in this picture.

Uncanny, right?

Because Al is my secret twin, I’m so proud of him for writing the sequel to Proxy, which is called Guardian.  I couldn’t love Proxy any more because the world needs more dark skinned homosexual heroes, ya know? Sure, Sid is gay but that’s not the point. The point IS that he is a human being who just happens to like other boys. He handles his business, kicks ass when he needs to, and is just trying to survive in the world, just like everyone else.

In Guardian, poor Sid is now the wunderkind, the guy who everyone hangs their hopes on. There’s been a revolution and now that the world is putting itself together, people are still trying to kill Sid. But at least he has a few friends. And all you need is one good friend, right?

Deeper still than Proxy, Guardian is a good platform to discuss political and economic systems if you’re into that sort of thing. What a great semester you‘d have if you taught this in World Civilization, Economics, English, Sociology, or History class! Teachers, get on this.  Fortunately for us, fascism is long dead, but Guardian helps you take a look at this and other failed systems in a way that teens who are trying to figure the world out, can relate to.

I can’t wait to see what happens in book 3.  There will be a book three, right?

Right?

Also? Am I the only one who envisions Harvey Fierstein or Topol as Counselor Baram?

Did I mention that I‘m part of Lady Reader Bookstuff‘s tour, which ROCKS. HARD.

rp_LONDON-TOUR.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories
Young Adult

I’m on the Guardian Blog Tour!

GUARDIAN (Proxy, #2) by Alex London
Release Date: May 29, 2014
Hardcover, 352 pages
Publisher: Philomel
Genre: YA / Dystopian / LGBT

The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner, Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

 

Amazon | B&N | IndieBound | Goodreads

 

Chapter One – GUARDIAN by Alex London

At night, they disposed of the bodies. There was no ceremony, no ritual, no remembrance.

“They’re human,” some argued.

“They were human,” said others. “Now they’re meat.”

“We have to study the infection,” said the doctor.

“We have to contain it,” said the counselor and gave her orders. “Burn the bodies.”

A work detail was tasked with the burning. One by one, in the dead of night, green uniforms with white masks hauled corpses to the pile. The corpses were webbed with black veins, their entire network of blood vessels visible through the pale skin. Dried blood obscured their faces and each had a single hole in the temple by the eyes, where the killing bolt went in. They were put down like livestock, burned like sacrifices.

As the bodies crackled, the doctor watched the flames, her face half in shadow, half dancing in firelight. “I believe there is a cure for this,” she said.

The counselor, standing beside her, nodded, but did not turn to look her way. “Your cure is worse than the disease.”

“You believe that?”

“It’s the truth. Your way is treason.”


“You’re in denial,” the doctor said. “This is going to get worse if we don’t stop it.”

“It’s a new world, Doctor,” the counselor replied. “We can’t turn back the clock.”

“Even to save people’s lives?”

“These”—the counselor gestured at the bodies—“are not people.”

“If it spreads?”

“Is it spreading?”


The doctor watched the young members of the work detail tossing the bodies on the pyre. They moved with the assurance of youth, the kind of attitude that
allowed them to stare infection and death in the face and believe it would never touch them. “I don’t know.”

“It is your job to know.”

“I can hardly understand it. The blood turns against the body. Itching, burning. Then, expulsion. Half of them bleed out.”

“And the other half?”

The doctor clenched her jaw. “They haven’t bled out yet.”

“They are in pain?”

“They can’t communicate, but we have to restrain them to keep them from scratching their skin off with their fingernails.” The doctor sighed. “So, yes, they are in pain.”

“Put them out of their misery,” the counselor ordered.

“But, we can still learn—”

“Those are the orders.” The counselor walked away, two green uniforms trailing her into the jungle. The doctor took off her white smock, pulled the blue gloves from her hands with a loud synthetic snap, and stood before the flames. She watched her latest failed experiments turn to smoke and ash in the bonfire, every bit of blood boiled away, with all the information it might have contained.

She had ideas, dangerous to share; but if she didn’t find a way, she feared, this sickness would go further than any of them could imagine. She would record a message in case she failed. She hoped that someone would still be alive to receive it.

 

 

 

 

 


Read the Exclusive 3 Chapters from London’s new release, GUARDIAN here: http://bit.ly/SgMw3b 

You can read the short story PUNISHMENT, the PROXY prequel on Wattpad for free right now! Meet Syd, Knox, and Liam (from Guardian) at 15… http://w.tt/1mtouLm

C. Alexander London grew up in Baltimore, Maryland. He’s an author of nonfiction for grown-ups (under a slightly different not very secret name), books for teens (as Alex London…see above), and, younger readers. He once won a 12-gauge skeet-shooting tournament because no one else had signed up in his age group. He’s a Master SCUBA diver who hasn’t been diving in way too long, and, most excitingly, a fully licensed librarian. He used to know the Dewey Decimal System from memory.

 

He doesn’t anymore.

While traveling as a journalist, he watched television in 23 countries (Burmese soap operas were the most confusing; Cuban news reports were the most dull), survived an erupting volcano in the Democratic Republic of Congo, a hurricane on small island in the Caribbean, 4 civil wars (one of them was over by the time he got there, thankfully), and a mysterious bite on his little toe in the jungles of Thailand. The bite got infected and swollen and gross and gave him a deep mistrust of lizards, even though it probably wasn’t a lizard that bit him.

Although he has had many adventures, he really does prefer curling up on the couch and watching some good television or reading a book. He enjoys danger and intrigue far more when it’s happening to somebody else.

He lives in Brooklyn, NY.

Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website
 Blog

August 7thBook Chic Club – Review/Interview
August 8thCheryl Rainfield ~ Guest Post
August 9thBookish – Spotlight
August 9thI Read It & Wept ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)/GP
August 9thLike A Bump On A Blog – Spotlight
August 10thBook Escape – Top 10/ Spotlight
August 11th – A Leisure Moment ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)
August 11th – Reads All The Books – Review (Proxy/Guardian)
August 12th – Debbie Bookish – Review (Proxy/Guardian)
August 13th – Unconventional Librarian – Review
August 14th – Word Spelunking ~ Review (Guardian)
August 14th – Kate Tilton’s Blog – GIF Interview
August 15thFangirlish – Review (Proxy/Guardian)
August 15thWhat A Nerd Girl Says – Review (Guardian)
August 16thBooks To Remember – Review (Guardian)
August 16thA Bookshelf Full of Sunshine – Review (Guardian)
August 16thThe Reading Date ~ Review (Guardian)
August 16thReading Fictional ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)
September – Bookish Tiffany – Review (Proxy/Guardian)
September – Bookish ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Hosted by: